Balut in Red Wine Sauce

28 Feb
  • I just joined the Kulinarya Cooking Club :

Kulinarya was started by a group of Filipino foodies living in Sydney, who are passionate about the Filipino culture and it’s colourful cuisine.  Each month we will showcase a new dish along with their family recipes.  By sharing these recipes we hope you find the same passion and love for Filipino food as we do.

And for the month of February the theme is (was…) Aphrodisiac foods! When I first read the theme all I could think of was – papaya helps to repel any urges and balut. And so I decided to make a balut dish… problem is my hubs was always busy and it makes me a bit guilty to make something that he loves and eat it alone.. also as much as I love eating balut – I couldn’t eat the “sisiw” (little duckie) and thus the late entry (I do promise to try better next month). This isn’t an original concept, I had this during my last visit to Manila and my dad who doesn’t normally eat anything “new” loved it, so thought I’d recreate it for this month’s theme.

So here’s what you need :

Balut – how many pieces totally depend on your appetite

Batter  (I used a tempura batter but omitted the egg, as I thought egg on egg is a bit redundant)

  • 1 cup iced water
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup corn flour

Red Wine Sauce

  • 30 g butter
  • 1 medium brown onion, finely chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1/2 cup dry red wine
  • 1 cup beef stock

First off, you peel the balut and dip it in batter. Then you fry them just until they’re a bit golden.

For the sauce – melt the butter then saute the onion till it’s soft. Add the garlic until fragrant. Next put the red wine and bring to a boil and simmer for five minutes. Lastly add the beef stock, again bring to a boil and simmer for 8-10 minutes.

Drizzle the balut with the sauce and EAT!

On a side note, hubs loved it so much that two eggs were inhaled within five minutes!!!

 

6 Responses to “Balut in Red Wine Sauce”

  1. peachkins February 28, 2011 at 1:25 PM #

    my entry is Balut also! …*apir*

  2. Ray February 28, 2011 at 11:48 PM #

    Hmmm, balut with red wine sauce looks interesting; it has a different twist. Look good with the sauce around it.

    Thank you for sharing.

  3. chef_d March 1, 2011 at 2:05 AM #

    Wow, this is the first time I’ve seen balut cooked this way. I’m not a fan of the chick myself but your recipes is interesting. Welcome to KCC!

  4. Adora's Box March 1, 2011 at 12:39 PM #

    Good job! I’m not a balut eater but I bet that recipe will work on other things. Like you, I also make sure there’s someone to eat the food I cook. I like the cooking part more than the eating.

  5. cusinera March 2, 2011 at 10:31 AM #

    Welcome to KCC, nice twist with the Balut=) I love the Balut yolk but still not brave on eating the baby chick=)

  6. carolineadobo April 5, 2011 at 3:24 PM #

    I’m late but welcome to KCC. Love the fried balut, haven’t eaten in years.

Leave a Reply

