Sansrival

25 Apr

Decadence…

That is Kulinarya’s theme for the month! And all I could think of is chocolate (ahhh chocolate!) but I can’t think of any Filipino chocolate dish apart from Champorado – which unfortunately, I don’t really like! So to get some inspiration I went and checked my pantry to see what I can whip up with the ingredients on hand and lo and behold.. seems like I have all the ingredients for Sansrival!

Kulinarya was started by a group of Filipino foodies living in Sydney, who are passionate about the Filipino culture and it’s colourful cuisine.  Each month we will showcase a new dish along with their family recipes.  By sharing these recipes we hope you find the same passion and love for Filipino food as we do.

I remember eating sansrival after class from the Minute Burger joint near our school. Everyone will be eating burgers or hotdogs and I’ll be munching on my frozen sansrival slice while waiting for our service (school bus) to arrive – erhmmm okay so I would have sansrival after my burger but those are really minor details that we shouldn’t bother with =)

Again, I consulted my trusty copy of “Let’s Cook With Nora” to aid me in my entry. So here’s the recipe courtesy of Nora Daza :

6 egg whites
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 cup cashew nuts, chopped finely
1 tsp vanilla

Filling :
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup water
6 egg yolks
1/2 lb butter
2 tbsp rum

Grease and flour heavily 3 inverted 18″ x 15″ cookie sheets. Set aside. Beat egg whites until soft peaks are formed. Gradually add the sugar, beating well after each addition. Continue beating until egg whites are very stiff. Fold in cashew nuts and vanilla. Spread thinly in prepared pans. Bake at 300F for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Cut wafers in the center if desired. Loosen and slide wafers to a flat surface. Cool. Prepare filling.

Boil sugar and water until it spins a thread. Meanwhile, beat egg yolks until thick. Pour syrup to egg yolks in thin streams while beating. Cool. Cream butter. Blend in egg yolk mixture and rum. Fill and cover wafers with filling. Sprinkle top with chopped cashew nuts. Serve chilled.


Also, there were two things that I changed with the recipe… first : I omitted rum as I didn’t have any plus as I don’t drink and don’t think I’ll be using it as an ingredient anytime soon – I didn’t buy any. Second : I didn’t use cashews (gasp!) but used almonds from my pantry instead. It still tasted good and if I remember correctly, I’ve eaten one from the Philippines that used pistachio nuts, so I think any nut would suit (except coconut of course.. hehe! bad joke!)

As you can see I went a little nut crazy! And because I had too much frosting I thought I could be a bit artistic and spruce it up a little.. hmm.. not sure if that was a great idea! Needs more practice decorating-wise I think!!! Here’s another snapshot of the cake when sliced :

14 Responses to “Sansrival”

  1. Boyet April 25, 2011 at 6:08 PM #

    it looks really satisfying….

  2. Ninette April 25, 2011 at 9:18 PM #

    I’ve always wanted to try to make sans rival. Yours looks amazing!

  3. Rowena @Saraplicious! Kitchen April 25, 2011 at 11:17 PM #

    I think you should overnight me a piece. Yum!

  4. skip to malou April 26, 2011 at 1:41 AM #

    I love sans rival, that crunchy goodness that melts in your mouth. I have yet to try to make one though.. thanks for the inspiration.
    Happy easter!
    Malou

  5. Adora's Box April 26, 2011 at 4:06 AM #

    So pretty and decadent. Without a doubt sans rival.

  6. Words and Steel April 26, 2011 at 4:23 AM #

    I almost made this same exact Sansrival recipe for KCC this month, but tried the Brazo de Mercedes instead. Yours looks delish!

  7. msmandaluyong April 26, 2011 at 11:27 AM #

    Thanks guys 😉

  8. Ray April 27, 2011 at 10:53 AM #

    Ow wow, yummy Sansrival with tons of hard butter before you eat it and then they all melt in your mouth. Thank you for sharing.

  9. Annie April 27, 2011 at 4:15 PM #

    Just what I’ve been wanting to make for the longest time. Thanks for the recipe!

  10. Jen April 27, 2011 at 10:10 PM #

    Well done for first posting! I looove sansrival too, and made it (20yrs ago) once using the same book. Thanks for reminding 😉

  11. Pia (taga_luto) April 29, 2011 at 5:47 AM #

    I haven’t made sans rival…i’m adding this to my to do list. Thanks for the share.

  12. sheryl@crispywaffle April 29, 2011 at 7:13 PM #

    I LOVE sans rival! Thanks for posting!

  13. carolineadobo June 18, 2011 at 12:15 PM #

    Sans Rival surely is decadent! I’d love a slice please.

  14. rem April 11, 2012 at 4:57 PM #

    i’ve been keeping Nora D’s cookbook for almost 2 decades now. Just last night, I ate a generous serving of mocha flvored sans rival, in one of the hotels here in Occ Mindoro, now i’m so eager to try making my own , the reason why i searched. good i have the book and will try some of ur tips

Leave a Reply

